The 5 Love Languages of Children

Go to the Amazon Page for more info. 

Premise is that our kids have specific ways that they both feel and express love. In order to meet their needs, we as parents have to find a way to "fill their emotional tanks" using the type of love that resonates most with our children. 

This is a lifelong journey, ideally started with younger (ages 5-7) kids. But it's never too late to engage your kids where they are at, especially since the love they "need" will likely change over time as they age. 

Takeaway: It was helpful to have love defined in categories. I have definitely had moments of extreme love (and the opposite!) with my girls, and I intuitively I feel as though I know what they need. But reading this book opened my eyes to other types of love that my kids display. Most importantly, it helped me define ways in which I can better meet those needs. 

If it sounds like a massive project, it's not. Start with the first six chapters (total of 93 pages). By that time you'll have covered each of the five languages and will likely know where you are strong and where you can improve. 

For reference, the five love languages are:
  • Physical Touch
  • Words of Affirmation
  • Quality Time
  • Gifts
  • Acts of Service 

Note that there are strong religious undertones in the book -- they are values that complement the content of the book, but one doesn't depend upon the other. 

If you've got kids that you're trying to figure out, this is a great, quick read to help you up your game. I hope you enjoy it and welcome your comments below.