Ironman Kona 2012 Race Report

Ironman Kona 2012 Race Report Executive Summary: This was my 5th Kona and by far the hardest in recent memory because of the wind and the heat. I went 10:16:xx, good for 115th in my AG up from 190th last year. Very pleased with my swim and bike, but heat acclimatization continues to be an issue in terms of racing to my potential here on the island.

Pre-Race

As I mentioned in a few previous posts, I have been on a minimalist training program following my mid-season slump. It has been an incredible journey into my personal understanding of fitness and a great confidence booster for what to focus on in the future. In the final two weeks pre-Kona, I tested at my highest FTP since Feb of 2011 and put up a key run with multiple 5:3x mile repeats.

We arrived at 9pm on Wednesday night, a mere 34 hours before race day. There was lots of admin to do to get ready, but almost all of it was fine. Huge thanks to fellow competitor and occasional training partner Jeff Capobianco (Breakthrough Performance Coaching) for helping me to fix my front brake caliper and keeping me sane. When it was all said and done, I lay down at 9pm to focus on the race. Not the best mental/physical build up for sure, but this trip has been 90% vacation and 10% racing for me. I never really felt stressed about the race; moreso about all the logistics!

Race Day

Got an early ride to transition and can confidently say that now, in my fifth try, I can navigate Kona morning well. Got marked, got set up, got to the Team picture and had time for one final pit stop before heading to the swim. Life is good.

The Swim -- 1:08:xx

Heading down the stairs to the small beach, I can see some serious swells breaking down the coast line and flags blowing pretty steadily. The wind, it seems, is here for the race. My fears were compounded by the current pulling us away from the beach as we waited for the start. Clearly this was going to be challenging.

The gun went off and I had a pretty solid swim. The usual crowding around buoys and a few pushes under water, but nothing too bad. I felt really solid about my swim stroke and felt very consistent across the whole day. No massive miscues in terms of cramping or excessive fatigue. On the return trip I noticed that the vast majority of swimmers were 20-40 feet wide of the return buoys (due to the currents) but I stayed on the buoy line with a few folks.

This might have cost me some time in terms of drafting but overall I was very pleased. The real only negative that I have is getting something into my left eye; the swim was so turbulent that you could't see the bottom and getting some water in my goggle meant some sand in my eye that would bug me all day and for the next few days as well.

Future Kona Swim Modifications

The swim start is key here; and as a single speed swimmer I could benefit from being able to lay down an 8- to 10-minute effort to get into a good group on the swim. I started wider left, but still ended up hitting the buoy line super quickly.

Given my tendency to veer right when open water swimming, I could venture even further left and aim for the turn boat. My focus on open water swimming in the last six weeks before the race, including a 5k swim in Newport (RI!) really built my confidence. Would definitely repeat that again.

T1 -- Swim To Bike

Felt really good climbing the steps and got help with my swim skin. In my rush to the transition area, I mistakenly started taking down my tri bib short strap instead of my swim skin (which was down). Dowh! I ran into the tent, took off the skin and gave bag and skin to a volunteer and ran out super fast. Somewhere in here I lost my salt pill container from my back pocket of my tri bib shorts, more on that later.

The Bike -- 5:15 (4-minute penalty)

I had the bike dialed in with the right gear and all my gear on it. In the first few miles I was able to get my feet in, my arm coolers on and start hitting the numbers. I felt pretty crowded on the first 10 miles in town with the admin miles, but was patient here. Managed to high five both girls while spinning slowly up Palani hill!!!

Out on the Queen K, the tailwind was in full effect. Everyone was flying along, which meant that there was very little opportunity to move ahead of the group without exceeding my numbers. Riding steady / EN style is really hard here. Everyone is super strong and VERY motivated. People would bunch up on the hills and I would fly past them on the downhills. But they would all catch me back up by the next rise.

The crosswinds picked up at the airport (mile 20ish?), which make passing much harder as folks were freaked out. By the time we were out past Waikoloa (Mile 35-ish?) winds were pretty strong. Groups stayed together until we started climbing to Hawi, as the road went up and the winds shifted to a full headwind….this is very rare and made for a super hard ride (the pros started 30' earlier and apparently missed it!!!).

It was about this time that I got a penalty for "Failure to Complete A Pass" -- we were riding up a hill and I flew up next to a guy who then proceeded to hammer. I just stopped pedaling and let him pull away into the headwind, but not fast enough. A non-pedaling penalty on a hill at sub-8mph…the officials were pretty strict I thought!!!! I served my penalty at the turn in Hawi after getting special needs; 4 minutes never seemed so long! I took the chance to get in salt and some tylenol and pee for the second time. I had been drinking tons of Perform to get my sodium in, but I was definitely behind and a bit worried. I had to skip a gel cycle b/c I was drinking so much it was hard to digest! It helped being able to grab some coke to drink out there.

The return trip was my usual; I just flew past folks who had started too hard. (Note: I could probably have a better day here by not biking to my best, but not ready to to do that yet.) In fact, I passed the official motorcycles a few times at like 26mph as they were monitoring groups. Having a third cage allowed me to hold a water and douse myself at the start of every hill…that was very key in terms of keeping my body temp down.

Once we hit the airport it got much easier. It was a long ride but I am mentally better at handling it; I think my avg watts were 228, which were still a far cry from my target of 250 but the drop is most likely due to the descent from Hawi.

Future Kona Bike Modifications

Back up bike salt on the bike for sure. I would have had it in my race belt, but pushed that to my T2 bag as it wasn't required for the run. A classic last minute change that cost me a bit.

Add the 11-tooth cog to my arsenal; I had one on order but never installed it…that would have given me a bit of an edge on the descents where I spun out every time. The rolling nature of the course in Kona means lots of chances to carry momentum should I choose to do so.

I rode Firecrest 404s here, which are the data equivalent of old 808s, but I could have handled a deeper section wheel set even with the winds. I think I'd go deeper next time.

A bit more aggressive with aero position…given the wind considerations and costs on the course, even an incrementally more aerodynamic position would help me save more time.

T2 -- Bike To Run

Usually I lose up to two minutes by taking a pit stop here, but this time I was on the move. I found a good volunteer and he helped me to sort out all of my running gear…and it was a lot: Fuelbelt, race belt, banana, gel, hat, cooling towel, garmin, etc. I hit the aid station in the tent as it's the "first" one until mile 1.5 on the run and then it was game time.

The Run -- 3:46

I had pretty high expectations for my run given my fitness coming into the day, and the early miles didn't disappoint. I focused on keeping my heart rate low on purpose (~ 140bpms or lower vs the usual 145bpms) and the splits seemed okay. Of course, the first 10 miles are a rolling and insanely hot few miles along Ali'i Drive and that was just really hard.

I ate and drank very well, putting sponges on my back and ice in my hat and hands, but it was almost too much to do at each aid station -- I could have used an extra hand or three. Mile 6 saw my first ever pit stop in a portajohn in an Ironman run…looks like my pre-race dinner might have been a bit too late. I felt better afterwards, but the break did nothing to make me feel any less hot.

By the time I saw the family by Lava Java I was en fuego. I did my customary walk up Palani to keep my HR down, but when I hit the top and started running again it was clear my body was just not right.

I made it to about mile 12 still running and then it was damage control time. I simply couldn't get cool enough. Couldn't drink enough, couldn't put enough ice on me, etc. The volunteers were awesome but I was walking a fine line between taking in what I wanted vs what my body could digest.

By about mile 15 I had slowed to a steady run in the 8:30-9:00 range and here I would stay. I would have intermittent stomach issues due to the excess fluids in my gut, but by about mile 22 I was on the move again and by mile 24 I was pretty good. Amazing what the end of the race can do for your spirits.

Future Kona Run Modifications

I really think that my suffering on the second half of the run is related to heat acclimatization. You can fake the funk almost all day, but after 1.5 hours of running on what appears to be the surface of the sun, all bets are off.

I need a better aid station strategy here, as I think I spent too long in each one, even early. I just couldn't find a rhythm. Since I don't ever see myself spending 10+ days on the island to get ready to race here, I think I will need to have some serious heat beating protocols in place that I start early. Could be time for Rasmus Henning's surgical glove with ice!

Other Kona Lessons Learned

Additional sunscreen after body marking.-- This year they sprayed you with alcohol to get the numbers on; great for marking but BAD for sunscreen. My shoulders are torched. Next time I must reapply.

Run "Cape" - I think this could help me stay cooler out there, just seeing how well my arm coolers protect me I think this widget would help.

Peak Performance Thoughts

In my fifth race here I managed 115th in the world for my age group. My "should" run would have make that top 80 or 90, which is awesome but a long, long way from the best. Here are some of my musings…

My swim would need to be about an hour to make the right group that will get me set up for the bike. Continued swim fitness is key, as it a better start and ability to swim in a group. Lots of work to do here…

My bike would have to be closer to a 4:45 split. That's about 25 minutes faster than I rode on race day, more than an order of magnitude faster. Part of it would come from being in a better swim group and having less wind on the return trip (the winds build all day, the pros rarely have to deal with them with their 30-minute head start). I would need a super aero set up and the core strength to stay there. And my FTP would have to go way up. I am pushing 340 now for 4W/kg….I would need to get my FTP up north of 375 to be in the hunt. Could be interesting to see what the numbers would be without the descent from Hilo. It might be possible to ride at a higher effort knowing that I can recover there? I think I rode 250ish all day, but the descent got me down to 228 avg Watts. Wondering if I could front-load my bike, riding at .8 IF (265 watts) knowing I have the drop coming later?

My run would have to be 3:10-3:15 which is fitness I already have…it's making it happen on race day that remains a challenge.

If you are still reading, I'd love your input on this report and any advice you can give, thanks!!!!

27 responses
Awesome finish to the year...Awesome year...Inspiring. Do you think you may have expend more energy than you realize in the swim given the current/swells?...How much might that impact you later in the day?...Really sounds like you had/have the bike dialed in pretty well...perhaps instead of going .8 in the first half...having a bigger gear to extend the downhill effort would be a better payoff/return....and as you would agree I think...get the swimBIKE dialed and the run fitness is there...Lookin forward to 2013!
Nice work Coach P, I don't have a ton of experience, but loved to hear your truly honest thoughts on your race, and what you can do to improve. Thanks for sharing as it helps all of us in our future races! Well done, and amazing season!!
Hi Patrick, Congrats !! Loved reading the report as always and reading your insight. Did you do any heat acclimation training at home prior to heading out, ex. running in place in a sauna, setting trainer up in attick, bikram yoga ect... Do you feel there is any benefit to simulating this type of heat training. If you can figure out how to increase your watts from 340 to 375 with as long as you have been training, could you let me know. Hope to see you sometime soon.
Very nice, Coach! Congrats on an awesome year and great race! As mentioned above, I am thinking that having the 11 tooth cog would be better than front loading. And I was thinking the same thing about trying to do some 'heat runs' in a sauna or other hot room. Not sure if that is possible or if it would even work, but there has to be something you could do to acclimate. Anyway - have a fantastic off season/out season!! Congrats again!
Patrick for heat acclimatisation I go into a steam room after swimming 3 times a week for about 20 mins each time which I find helps as I live in North of England where its always cold.
I also made gloves from stitching 2 small face towels togther which fit over my hands and hold a good amont of ice that I fill up as I pass through an aid station--lots blood vessels in hands and this really works.
@JCL, thanks for the tips...you are right that the swim was more costly but I really chilled it out. It was almost enjoyable. :) Yes to the 11-tooth...I am down with that!

@Bryan, no worries and thanks for the support!

@Bob, not really...I hit the sauna once...the hard part was I don't have time to really sit still...unless I cut my workouts short! I think I'd have to be a lot closer in terms of performance to be able to justify that kind of focus. As for the FTP program, I have some ideas but won't talk about them until I do them and see if they work. I will tell you it means not running that "hard" this winter...

@Greg, there are a few things I could do...we'll have to see if I can make it back!

@Eric, as an ultra runner and overall exercise sadist, I appreciate your input on both the heat and the cooling. I have a lot to focus on for sure...

Just curious...what gears you were running front & back?
No comments.

Just admiration and congratulation.. It's a place where most of can only dream of reaching.

Congrats. Thanks for sharing the details.

Regarding the glove thing, did you mean Torbjorn Sindballe?

Congrats! When you come out for IMAZ you may want to schedule some wind tunnel time at Faster in Scottsdale (http://www.ride-faster.com). They have the only cycling specific wind tunnel in the world and the results are amazing. Just a simple change in jersey and different aero helmet saved me 12 watts. The price is pretty reasonable also especially when you calculate your ROI form a pair of Zipps.
Respect! And thanks for the sharing!
Great report, Patrick. Your description of the race conditions was spot on(I was about 35' behind you)! You had an amazing bike split in those winds-I was one of the guys you passed coming out of Hawi - the wind and heat definitely got the best of me on the bike. Way to hang tough on the run. Great race!
Like always, your attention to detail in your reports is quite helpful. You tell what happened and how you would correct it. Congrats on a great race and learning some things along the way.
Heat: If you can stand training indoors, one of the best methods for heat acclimitazation I've found is to close up the room, put a space heater in there, and bike and/or run on the treadmill. You can also, of course, add clothing to bump it up too.

Gut: I personally think you attempt to take in too many calories per hour. It's a physiological fact that the human body can only absorb a finite number of calories, particularly carbs. While most of us fit into a range or normality, you're intake is well above that range. It's playing with fire. At some point, this will catch up with you. Perhaps that might explain part of what happened to you on the run. Additionally, if you're constantly training your body to rely on massve volumes of carbs added during activity, it will not adapt to burn fat as efficiently. When the gut shuts down and you can't dump those huge volumes of carbs, your body doesn't have the ability to utilize fat as fuel as efficiently because it isn't trained to do so. Therefore, performance suffers.

Two additional things that are EN heresy. 1) There is some strong evidence (based upon race power profiles) that suggests that hitting the hills harder on the bike is actually more effective than attempting to hit a specific power number to keep the effort flat. I think I saw something from Gordo about this not too long ago even. 2) Heart rate. No matter what the training fad of the day is, we have only one identifier to help us determines how much stress the body is under. Heart rate. If your brain determines that the body is under too much stress, it will shut you down. I won't go into the physiology of it here because I know it's contrary to the EN kool-aid. You noted that you monitored the heart rate for the first few miles of the run. Perhaps you did so on the bike too, as well as the rest of the run. I noticed that you had some pretty severe headwinds at times on the bike. There's a place for hidden danger.

Anyway, contrats on getting to Kona...and even better...moving up in you AG! That's awesome!

Great report Coach P! Awesome bike splits in that wind. Very inspiring!
Congrats, Patrick, on a thoughtful and honest critique of the day. Some people seem to be able to acclimate better than others. So, what works for one may not work for another. With that in mind, I'll share what has worked best for me in two Honu's and three Kona's. For the half's, arriving the Wednesday before the race has been fine, but both times we came after spending about three to four days on another Island. With Kona, arriving on the Friday or Saturday the week before the race was a positive. Next was sleeping without the AC (the first night the AC was used to cool down, then turned off) spending as much time in the ambient climate as possible. Then, doing the first runs in the late afternoon or evening seemed to help in getting used to the climate. I don't recall your mentioning the pre-race hydration, so don't know if that could be a factor. You seemed to do all you could to cool yourself, so no thoughts there. Again, good on ya', and thanks for your report.
Coach,

No comments, just great to hear about your day! Congrats on finishing strong in such tough conditions!

Thanks for the report. I was amazed to read your pre-race plan in which you planned to take in 60 oz. of fluid every hour and lots of calories. I think you might do a bit more research here in what the body can actually assimilate in terms of calories and fluid.

I have gone to Kona twice from a cold climate and once from a warm one. When living in the cold, I prepare for the heat and humidity by biking at least 3 -4 times a week for at least an hour in the 2 weeks before leaving for Kona in what I call my "Kona Training Center." I put my bike trainer in a bathroom, let the hot water run from an open shower while heating the small area up with a space heater. Guaranteed to make you sweat and acclimate you a bit.

This year I had surgical gloves with me and tried to fill them with ice at stations. It took too long. Easier to just hold onto some ice while keeping some in your mouth. The femoral artery runs down your groin, so putting ice down your pants might help as well!

Great race report Patrick and congrats. I've done a lot of research during my years of exercise physiology and learned a lot when it comes to heat and exercise. I advised a friend who was preparing for Badwater Ultra about using a sauna. He actually had a sauna built around his treadmill and would log 25 mile runs on it weekly. He crushed the field and finished second to Dean K. Without spending 2 weeks before Kona that is the second best option.

I would also look into Na loading 3 days before the race. It's possible you started the day depleted/low by not being acclimatized to the heat.

Calories are an interesting thing when it comes to endurance sports. And I've learned from you and team EN more may work. THe best research says that the body cannot handle more than 300cal/hr. Yet we see so many athletes go way beyond this and be successful. I believe each athlete and each race condition has its unique demands and you'll have to experiment with training in the heat.

My last piece for you is training/racing with HR. There are so many variables that influence HR way beyond the demands of physiological efforts to finishing IM. As a former Ultra runner I used to train with HR and found my numbers all over the place. My old exercise physiologist told me that I could never hold that pace for a 100 miler (based on HR - pace correlation). So to get out of my head I threw the HR monitor out the window and exceeded the paces that I was told I couldn't sustain. Last year I trained with Mark Allen for IM and he swore by HR. SO again I gave it another shot, only to be disappointed again. In the end, know that HR is not a a reliable measure of physiological exercise. I know it worked for IMTX, but pace is far more reliable, yet each individual varies so you'll have to find what works best.

My 2 cents... Congrats again Patrick...see you in FLorida!

I knew someone would have to jump in and argue against the facts!

So, let me get this straight, Sokhi. Coach P had gastro issues (likely
due to either too much intake and/or dehydration) and he couldn't
maintain the pace he wanted on the run. Your advice is to keep taking
in the carb volume even though you admit, "THe best research says that
the body cannot handle more than 300cal/hr." (and that's on the high
end)...and to keep hitting that pace, even though he couldn't. Umm...okay.

Every Ironman, marathon, and half iron race course is littered with
walking dead who take advice like that.

Sorry. Human physiology is what it is. Yes, indeed, there are
outliers. There always are. The vast majority of us dont fall in that
category though. As I said, once we step beyond what we know to be
true, we're playing with fire. We might get away with it sometimes, but
we'll get burned eventually.

I always get a kick out of comments like, "There are so many variables
that influence HR way beyond the demands of physiological efforts to
finishing IM." Like what? Outside of life stress or a shot of
adrenaline at the beginning of a race/leg...tell me, what are those "so
many variables"? Please! The vast majority of factors affecting heart
rate are indeed physiological. Coach P had a race in the heat and
humidity. Let's just consider the two most basic issues with heat that
cause race problems. High HR in heat is caused primarily by two things
(and this is basic, and not exhaustive): 1) blood volume available to
the muscles is reduced because blood is shunted to the skin for cooling
purposes. Therefore, the muscles will not and cannot function to
capacity because they don't have optimal oxygen and fuel access. 2)
blood volume available to the muscles is reduced further due to
dehydration, blood plasma falls, and in simple terms...the blood
thickens. (increased heart rate is a sign of dehydration...that "heart
rate drift" that some like to dismiss is very often a sign that you're
dehydrating progressively). You go ahead and ignore all that and stick
your pace or power. You might get away with it for a while, especially
if the race is short enough or you cross those physiological points late
enough in the race. But most of us will fail at some level. We'll be
forced to slow or stop. As an ultra runner, Sukhi, you surely know that
heat affects pace. It's a known fact that no one with any credibility
disputes. Or what about the course. Are you going to run every course
at the same pace? Of course not! So why is the current fad among some
so keen on hitting a pace when we KNOW pace is not reliable and that
it's heavily dependent upon race conditions? If the physiological
reasons why the pace can't be held from a cooler race to a hotter race
is based largely upon the conditions of and use of our blood, which is
indicated by how hard our heart is working to supply the requested
blood, ignoring heart rate is like ignoring the tachometer in a race
car. Using pace is exactly the same thing as using the speedometer to
determine how hard the engine is working instead of the tachometer.

Also, the blood markers that identify what we commonly refer to as
aerobic, anaerobic, lactate threshold, etc are closely tied to heart
rate. It's basic physiology. If our muscles don't get the oxygen they
need to function at the effort we're demanding, they will progressively
use more and more glycogen and go more and more anaerobic in an effort
to do what we're telling them to do. And we're back to asking the
question, how can we know this is happening to us? Pace? Of course
not! While not perfect, heart rate is the ONLY physiological marker we
have to tell us how much stress our body is under and what the condition
of our "engine" is. Until Garmin incorporates a lactate meter or a
pulse/oxygen meter in their watch, we have NO other physiological marker
to use to tell us what's going on in our blood and muscles when we're
out there pushing our limits. It's not perfect, but it's all we've got.
And it's better than running ourselves into the ground with a pace that
causes us to go more anaerobic when we didn't expect it. Sticking our
heads in the sand and pretending that we can maintain a pace that isn't
physiologically possible doesn't make us able to do so. For the record, I use HR as a confirmation of perceived effort on the
run and power on the bike. I use it all intuitively and don't do
anything strictly "by the numbers" of power, pace, or heart rate. All
have an important part.

Oh and by the way, I'm not sure how many IMs you've won Sukhi, but I
don't find myself in a position to argue with Mark Allen and his
results...or the results his athletes get year in and year out. Coach P
knows this. He saw 28 Mark Allen trained athletes on the course this
year. In fact, I'd bet the house that there were way more athletes in
Kona focusing more on HR or on perceived effort or both than on hitting
a pace or power number. I know I didn't see many who were willing to
ignore those two very important metrics for the benefit of a pace or
power.

Work works! And I would add what Americans are finally rediscovering in
middle and distance running...what has always worked best, still works
best.
Jerry thanks for your comments. I was going to respond until you decided to make personal attacks on me and make assumptions that I never wrote. I have little tolerance for ignorance and zero tolerance for simply trying to put others down.

FYI... I'm an award winning doctor and leading expert in mind/body medicine. I collaborate with colleagues and scientists that are leaders in health and human potential. The biggest difference between us and you is that we cultivate curiosity to learn more from each other where you judge and criticize.

I have the utmost respect for Mark Allen and his athletes and have shifted him when it comes to HR training. I'm also a former professional athlete and worked with physiologists and trainers experimenting with human physiology. Oh last and not least I have coached 1-1 a professional IM champion and professional IM 70.3 champion. Yet... I know nothing and you have it all figured out.... Hilarious!

Next week I'll see Patrick in person and will have a wonderful conversation to deepen his understanding for performing better in Kona. You can continue to do what you do. Have a wonderful life my friend.

Thanks to everyone for your input, and for KEEPING IT POSITIVE HERE. :)

I post this to share so others can learn and, through your comments, I can learn too. This was my 18th IM, my 5th Kona, and if I have learned anything it's that I have much left to learn.

@JCL, I rode a 53/39 front, 12/27 rear with 172.5 mm Rotor cranks, Firecrest 404s.

@John H and others, yes arriving earlier and no A/C would work...but I had my family there (they like A/C!!!) and this was a vacation for us. Maybe one day I'll show up there ready to race it, but for now I'll save my A game for qualifying.

Re - Heat prep, yes I could have done more than just overdress. The sauna deal sounds good; not sure I could build one or train in my bathroom (!) but I could spend more time there for sure. Some great advice here.

Re - Pacing, I actually felt pretty good about it all. The bike was right on target (Power and HR) for what I expected, and I was conservative on the run with my pace / HR (yes, I do the run by HR now so not sure if that was clear / assumed above) vs what I usually run...but the hammer dropped anyway out there. Could be from a variety of things but again I think the fitness was there and the pacing was right...but no heat prep is bad.

Re - Nutrition, I know it's a lot but I have been training with it for over a year now, and have had multiple PR performances. I know it's a lot, but I hammered it out with a respected nutritionist and I feel it works for me. I absolutely need to go back and review my day and the calories to see if that was an issue, but usually my gut pushes back (think burps, gas) long before I get to a personal shut down in an IM. IOW, it doesn't take 10 hours for my body to have issues...the warning signs show up much, much earlier when I am eating on the bike...

Re - Hills, I think Alan Couzens wrote the article. Yes it works on paper to go harder on hills, but it depends on the hills and how you handle the effort relative to the rest of the day. My choice in Kona has been to ride harder overall (think .75 instead of .72 IF) with the same effort up hills as on the flats...I can "afford" to ride "hot" from an HR / physiological standpoint because it's steady. When things get variable (for me) they get a lot harder...my HR doesn't appreciate the bounces and I do worse with fueling with such an effort. My training rides are like that, and it's hard to get it right. That said, I think there is something for racing Kona overall more differently than another IM given the wind changes, increasing heat, etc...

And finally, it's Kona. You roll the dice. You race. 4 of the top 10 AG men off the bike? Including last year's 2nd OA amateur? Total DNF. It's a hard day and I was out there racing to my best. Did what I could with what I know and I felt really good about it. Can't wait to get stronger and hope I get back one day!

Sukhi,

When my wife and I were in residency (yes, I can see your degree, and
raise you one! - That is, assuming when you say you're an "award winning
doctor and leading expert in mind/body medicine" that you mean you've
actually been to medical school, have a degree, and are licensed to
practice medicine) one of the attendings used to have a saying. He
said, "Act your education." With that, I'll refrain from getting into a
comparison of who's whatsit is bigger and simply apologize for my
comments. You said you took my comments to be a personal attack on you.
I did not intend for that to be the case. My purpose was to simply
respond to your direct and unsubstantiated reproof of my comments with
some very basic facts of human physiology. You made blanket statements
that are simply not accurate, regardless of what authority you claim to
hold.

Clearly, I disturbed you with my comments. I'm not sure what
assumptions you're referring to that upset you, as I quoted you directly
when I referenced your comments, but I apologize if I did so. I also
apologize if you felt that I was putting you down. I didn't mean to. I
can't apologize for being ignorant, but I guess I can apologize for
pushing your tolerance level due to my ignorance. I obviously caused
you distress.

Perhaps you could be more specific with your identity or your work. As
accomplished as you are, I'd like the opportunity to review your
writings and study your coaching methods. Who have you coached? Which
IM and 70.3 champions? I may well know them personally and perhaps
could learn something new to assimilate into my body of knowledge. As
you know, there is no single answer. The more information, clinical and
anecdotal we have, the better.
Sukhi, dude...get a grip! You're way out of bounds here. You're the one throwing down the insults. It looks like you had it coming anyway. If you're all you claim to be, enlighten us with your wisdom...not your rhetoric and conflicting claims. Even if you are all that and a bag of chips, it doesn't mean you have all the answers either. There are lots of smart folks who get it wrong from time to time. Even Einstein didn't bat 1000.

For what it's worth, the U.S. middle and distance running return to more traditional methods, away from pace-based, "quality over quantity", Daniels-esque type training to try to return the U.S. to some measure of significance speaks volumes. It was an interesting experiment, but caused the U.S. to fall behind the rest of the world.

Patrick, congrats on a tough race day. I learn so much from your race reports. I was out there supporting my husband, as we both do Ironmans. I do have this advice on pushing for a faster bike in Kona: in the third from last paragraph in your report, you are riding back from *Hilo*. Man, that is a super long ways from Kona! Like 130 miles! Next year, I suggest staying on the bike course, and just going up to Hawi, turn around and return to T2. :)
No Wonder it took so long!!! That's what I get for writing my race report so close to after the race itself!!!  :)
No worries, Patrick. Keep hydrating...