Tapering for My First Non-Race [40 Miles on my 40th Bday]

This Saturday is looming large…I only know it because I am tapering -- for the first time -- seriously for the first non-race event that has ever really put some fear into me. Don't get me wrong, I will be ready but I am very aware of the fact that 40 miles is a…..lot…..longer…..than 26 point 2. 

That said, the weather looks great -- high of 46 with wind at 7mph. Hell, anything is better than the snowmaggedon I imagined. :)

Right now I have three super awesome amazing folks who have committed to running with me.  Of course, anyone else is welcome to show up and join in.  Remember while I am running for to raise funds for Charity:Water, you don't have to donate to come out and run or just laugh at me as I stumble on by. :) 

Food & Fluids by Fuelbelt

We'll have Gatorade products supplied by FuelBelt (amazing), but you will need to be ready to carry your own stuff as this is the only "support" along the entire route.  After you run your loop with me, you are welcome to use the house to shower, etc.

Starting @ 8am; Running 8-Minute-Miles

I will start off on Lap #1 at 8am and aim for 8 minute miles. I might be a bit faster (or slower), but no pressure. There will be nature breaks along the way and time to tie, re-tie, curse at and whatever else needs to be done to my shoes.  I will take a short break at the end of each lap to refuel, etc. 

I think quite a few folks might just jump in for the last lap or the last mile…I will be happy to have anyone come along…don't be shy!

The Route

I am hopeful that my 5-Mile route will still be an option with the warmer weather..but it's really dependent on the bike path. So we *might* have to wing it. Here is the "official" map: http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/356563039 

Highlights include rolling terrain as you run by the Rhode Island Country Club and the amazing view, a ½-mile off-road section next to Echo Lake, and just over a mile along the East Bay Bike Path.

Virtual Tracking

I will be using the RoadID app to track my progress across the day, as well as having folks post to my Twitter (www.twitter.com/pmccrann) and Facebook pages. Stay tuned for updates there...we'll have to see if I can beat an 8 minute per mile pace!

Post Run -- Starting @ About 2pm

I will plan on cleaning up and hanging out. Depending how many folks show we'll have some pizza and various beverages. 

Bring on Saturday!

ps that donation link is here if you can/want to give (thanks!):  http://my.charitywater.org/all-i-want-for-my-40th-birthday-is-water