July Training Update from Coach Patrick (or Lack Thereof)

Time for another monthly update from the land of Coach Patrick. 

Well, I have to be honest and say that June was pretty much a wash. Just as I was getting back on the training train, I was hit with pneumonia. As a result, I was out for two weeks hard core. Although I did get in a great ride with my girls.

I have slowly been working my way back up to being able to exercise and breathe at the same time. :-) This really set me back in my rehab and physical therapy -- I literally couldn't leave my house. 

Now that I'm on the mend, another curveball. We actually just finished moving back into our house!!! 

That's right, the work our house is finally complete. A mere 4 1/2 months after ripping the inside out, our house is put back together and I can literally sit down on my own kitchen counter. I can't overstate the importance of just being back in our own house. I want to thank all of you for your patience this as I have been transitioning through this challenging time. 

Now I'm focusing back on getting into the bicycle and reestablishing my functional strength routine. In all honesty I haven't had a lot of discomfort in my hip because I haven't been active. I'm a little disappointed with losing roughly a month on the return to activity timeline, but have no idea how I could have sustained it all without literally imploding. 

I hope I have more to show you over the coming weeks as you follow me on Strava. But first, we are off to Lake Placid to support my wife as she completes Ironman number seven. It's been a couple years since I've been a Sherpa, but I'm super looking forward to it!