Hardest Part of My 2012 Season: Not Training

I have had quite a run over the past year, with tons of great results and almost as many personal bests...but I have run into a problem...my body isn't keeping up with my goals. So it's time to implement Plan B, break the glass and pull the lever, emergency-stand-down-time. 

That's right...two weeks off to rejuventate for a final end-of-season Ironman Kona push. 

My year started with a two-week break post Kona into the November OutSeason. I pushed through there to set a personal best in a February Half Marathon as well as new all-time high on my threshold power on the bike.

Then it was right into training for Texas where I set a new lifetime best (9:27). I took two weeks off but then rode pretty long (and hard) at our Ironman Lake Placid Rally.

I was beat up, so I took two more lighter weeks before I jumped into the Patriot Half Iron and went 4:32 for ninth overall (report here).

So I took a few light days again, but two weeks later I jumped into the second annual FuelBelt ShootOut Ride...this year was 127 miles and I was doing well until I missed the final selection at about mile 105, suffering and cramping all the way back home. 

So here I am about 12 weeks out from Kona and feeling really bad. I am in shape, for sure, but I am hurting.

My hips are tight. My adductors are tighter. My resting pulse is still in the mid-40s (usually mid-30s) and I simply can't get enough sleep at night. 

I talk about my ability to recover being my competitive advantage, so it's time to put that to work. Starting today, 7/2/13, I will be taking two weeks off from biking and running. I have the option to swim but will be cautious there as well. Instead, I will focus on daily stretching and core work to get some strength back as I rest up.

Doing the right thing isn't always about doing the easiest thing...but I have to do this if I want to have a solid finish to my year.

Wish me luck!!!

Get More from Coach Patrick: Plans and Books 

Visit www.patrickjohnmccrann.com to find Patrick's books on training and much more. It's like having Patrick plan out your season with you!