Guess My Philadelphia Marathon Finish Time (2012)

As some of you know, I will be in Philadelphia this weekend to run the Philadelphia Marathon in the memory of my good friend, Chris Gleason. Chris died in the final mile to the finish, doing what he loved -- giving it everything he had. 

I am really looking forward to this weekend; there will be some other friends making the trek. And it's just really important to me that I get there...to the city, to the course, and to mile 25.

I know it's common to remark about loss when someone dies, but in Chris' case it's true. It's unbelievable to me how, even to this day, I keep finding new friends and connections who were touched by Chris, his passion for life and his personal commitment for excellence.

I will be running this race pretty not in shape. Yes, I just did Ironman Hawaii about six weeks ago, but since then I took two weeks off, exercised sporadically for two weeks and then fractured my forearm. I have run 30 to 45 minutes a few times this week to test out my arm, and it seems all systems are go. 

So Guess My Time

I have run a 3:07 here back in 2001, my only Philly attempt. My best open marathon was a 2:59:42 in 2009. My last open marathon was Boston in 2011 -- the tailwind race! -- where I went 3:01:xx. 

Since then I have run a 3:15 at Ironman Texas in May 2012; and suffered to a 3:46 in Kona most recently. 

I am still not sure how I am going to approach the day, as in racing or not...but maybe your guesses will motivate. 

Prize for the closest guess TBD...put it in the comments!!!

 

 

11 responses
3:03
3:07
3:12
3:16
3:37
3:21
3:03:33
Good luck. 3:06
3:13 - good luck!
Thanks all for playing...I went 3:03 on the NOSE, just as Rob Tagher guessed in the FIRST guess above...CRAZY. Now you have to tell me when you are running so I can guess your time!!!! :)
Nice time Patrick – congrats!   From: