Exercise Sabbatical Check In (2012 Edition)

I have just crossed the half way point -- 8 days of essentially zero exercise except for a short 2.5-mile easy run I lead at a conference. This is the longest I have gone without exercise since Octover 2011 after racing in Kona. 

I wrote about my reasons for this decision in my last post here, but I wanted to fill you in on my progress. 

  • I started planking 10 minutes a day. This was a debacle in day 1 but I am sufficiently able to complete the whole progression now. Very pumped about this.
  • I have been stretching every day; my adductors feel 100x better but my psoas is still a bit sore. Lots of work to do here. 
  • I will be checking out some new saddles from TTBikeFit to see if it will help me reduce pressure on my adductors. 
  • My resting heart rate is finally consistently down below 40 bpms each morning...haven't see those kind of numbers since April!

Of course, I'd love to be doing a lot more in my free time, but for now this seems to be doing the trick. With just six more days to go, it will soon be time to map out the next phase of my training...stay tuned!!!